Award furthers international science collaborations

Pappu-H-2013-80PULLMAN, Wash. – Scientist Hanu Pappu recently was honored for his scholarship and international stature in agricultural research with an award that facilitates travel to India to interact and exchange ideas with researchers there.

The Indian National Science Academy (INSA) named Pappu the Dr. B.P. Pal Chair for 2013. Pappu will deliver seminars and lectures at several of India’s agricultural universities. He will develop joint research projects and grant proposals with Indian scientists.

The Sam Smith Distinguished Professor in the Washington State University Department of Plant Pathology, Pappu researches insect-borne plant viruses. He has collaborated on research projects in more than 18 countries. He has published more than 150 scientific journal articles, authored reviews and spoken at national and international conferences.

“It is both an honor and privilege for me to be the recipient of this prestigious award,” said Pappu. “Dr. BP Pal, through his translational research, made seminal contributions to ensuring food security in Asia.”

Pappu has served on the organizing committees of multiple international conferences in Africa, Asia, Europe and North and South America. He recently was elected secretary of the International Working Group on Viruses of Legumes and Vegetables, which has more than 150 members from 27 countries.

Pappu teaches a graduate course in virology and team teaches courses in molecular genetics of plant-microbe interactions and plant pathology. He is director of the plant pathology graduate program; the largest in the country, its students have received funding and fellowships from the National Science Foundation, Fulbright program and Achievement Rewards for College Scientists.

B.P. Pal (1906–1989) was the first director of the Indian Council of Agricultural Research, India’s premier federal agricultural research agency. He was one of the foremost scientists in wheat genetics and breeding. He obtained his doctorate from Cambridge (England) University and was elected a fellow of the Royal Society in 1972.