April 18: Student leadership, engagement awards ceremony

By Erin McIlraith, Communication Coordinator, Center for Civic Engagement

PULLMAN, Wash. – The 2017 Leadership and Engagement Awards of Distinction ceremony will begin 4:30 p.m. Tuesday, April 18, in the Compton Union Senior Ballroom on the Washington State University Pullman campus.

The annual event recognizes WSU student leaders and those who have mentored and supported them as they work toward leadership and social change.

The LEAD program will include the inauguration of the 2017-18 ASWSU and GPSA officers, an address from WSU President Kirk Schulz, an event titled the Gallery of Leadership, the presentation of the 2017 President’s Award for Leadership, and the announcement of the 2017 Virginia E. Thomas scholarship recipient. The LEAD event is open to the public.

Beginning at 4:30 pm, guests are invited to visit the Gallery of Leadership and enjoy a brief event reception. The Gallery of Leadership will feature a variety of projects in which WSU students have shown themselves to be true Cougar leaders who have made a difference in the community or on campus.

Following the Gallery of Leadership, the current ASWSU and GPSA officers will be acknowledged for their service throughout the year, and the 2017-18 officers will be inaugurated. President Schulz will then be invited to speak on leadership at WSU.

At the conclusion of President Schulz’s remarks, the presentation of the 2017 President’s Award for Leadership will begin. Since 1996, the President’s Award has been an honor bestowed annually to students and others who advance leadership and engagement at WSU. Recipients of this prestigious award demonstrate exceptional leadership and service to the university and the community or support leadership development and engagement of WSU students. Awardees were reviewed using the framework of the Social Change Model of Leadership Development. The 2017 award categories are student, student group, faculty or staff, and community organization. The event will conclude with the announcement of the 2017 Virginia E. Thomas scholarship recipient who was chosen from the President’s Award applicants.

For more information, see lead.wsu.edu

Media Contact:

  • Erin McIlraith, Marketing and Communication Coordinator, Center for Civic Engagement, 509-335-0578, emcilraith@wsu.edu
  • Molly Gagnon, Assistant Director of Marketing, Student Involvement, 509-335-2493, molly.gagnon@wsu.edu