March 24: Hospitality business school celebrates 85 years

By Sue McMurray, Carson College of Business

PULLMAN, Wash. – The School of Hospitality Business Management (SHBM) at Washington State University will celebrate its 85th anniversary at 5:30 p.m. Friday, March 24, in the CUB senior ballroom. The public is invited.

Registration is $85 and is available online at or by calling 509-335-5766 until 5 p.m. Friday, March 3. The celebration will include dinner, dancing and recognition of SHBM alumni and former professors who will be inducted into the school’s inaugural hall of fame.

Inductees include:
John Ascuaga, former owner and emeritus chairman, Nugget Hotel-Casino
Stan Boyd, owner/winemaker, Boyd Family Winery
Chris Burdett, senior vice president, CBRE Hotels

Jerry Burtenshaw, chairman, ABC Services
Dwight Call, retired president, Westin Hotels and Resorts
Larry Culver, retired chairman/chief executive officer, Inn Ventures, Inc.

Tom Drumheller, chief executive officer, Escape Lodging
Jerry Jaeger, president, Hagadone Hospitality Corporation
Craig Schafer, owner, Hotel Andra & Inn at the Market

Lothar Kreck, professor emeritus
Don Smith, professor emeritus, deceased

“The event celebrates the School of Hospitality Business Management’s successful programs over the last 85 years,” said Nancy Swanger, SHBM director and Carson College of Business associate dean.

The school was established in 1932 and ranks eighth among hospitality programs nationwide. Additionally, ranked the school No. 1 for best online hospitality programs in the U.S. in 2017.


News media contacts:
Darcie Bagott, WSU School of Hospitality Business Management, 509-335-5766,
Sue McMurray, WSU Carson College of Business, 509-335-7578,