March 24: Hospitality leaders to give annual business talk

By Sue McMurray, Carson College of Business

PULLMAN, Wash. – A panel of nine hotel and hospitality industry professionals will share expertise during the annual, public Burtenshaw Distinguished Lecture Series at 2-3:30 p.m. Friday, March 24, in the CUB auditorium at Washington State University.

The panelists are graduates of the WSU School of Hospitality Business Management between 1952 and 1990 and will speak on perspectives from the past to frame the future. They will be among the first inductees into the SHBM Hall of Fame.

Speakers include John Ascuaga (’52), former owner and emeritus chairman, Nugget Hotel-Casino; Stan Boyd (’77), owner/winemaker, Boyd Family Winery; Chris Burdett (’90), senior vice president, CBRE Hotels; Jerry Burtenshaw (’56), chairman, ABC Services; Dwight Call (’56), retired president, Westin Hotels and Resorts; Larry Culver (’64), retired chairman/chief executive officer, Inn Ventures, Inc.; Tom Drumheller (’75), chief executive officer, Escape Lodging; Jerry Jaeger (’70), president, Hagadone Hospitality Corporation; and Craig Schafer (’76), owner, Hotel Andra & Inn at the Market.

The Burtenshaw lecture highlights ways to steer hospitality businesses to prominence and profitability. It is sponsored by alumnus DeVere Jerry and Angelina Burtenshaw in memory of their son, Calvin Brett. The lecture is presented annually by the WSU School of Hospitality Business Management.

Learn more at, email or call 335-5766.


News media contacts:
Darcie Bagott, WSU School of Hospitality Business Management, 509-335-5766,
Sue McMurray, WSU Carson College of Business, 509-335-7578,