Nominations due Feb. 1 for Honors College faculty fellows

PULLMAN, Wash. – Washington State University faculty members who make significant contributions to the Honors College and its students can be nominated or apply through Wed., Feb. 1, 2017 to be a member of the second cohort of Honors faculty fellows.

“Exceptional and dedicated faculty across the university support our mission and have a deep impact on our Honors students, and we are privileged to publicly recognize them with this courtesy title,” said Honors Associate Dean David Shier.

Shier, who is the contact person for any questions, said information about eligibility and the application process is on the college website at  Final selections of fellows will be made by Dean M. Grant Norton in mid-March, with the new titles taking effect as of May 16, 2017.

Tenured and tenure-track faculty, clinical track faculty, and instructors with current WSU appointments are eligible. Interested persons may apply and nominations are welcome from deans, directors, and chairs; nominees will be encouraged to submit an application. Applications and nominations will be accepted only until the deadline; in the past there was a rolling deadline, said Shier.

Honors Faculty Fellow appointments are for three years, but may be renewed for longer by the dean. Fellows must be on WSU appointment. They can apply for special funding, thanks to generous support from the Jonas family, to support activities related to their fellows role, such as developing a new course or program, or attending conferences related to research or teaching.

An applicant’s contributions to Honors might include: teaching for Honors; developing and leading faculty-led study- and research-abroad student programs; being as a research mentor or hosting an internship; serving on the Honors Council or advising the dean; and being an Honors College ambassador on campus.

Applicants must describe past or current, and future, contributions to the college, and secure a letter of endorsement from a recommender.

“Just as the original cohort reflected the breadth and depth of the Honors faculty base, we welcome applications from faculty across all disciplines at the university,” said Norton.

The original seven-member cohort of Honors Faculty Fellows was announced in spring 2016; those still on WSU appointment will retain the title into 2019. Five were members of the College of Arts and Sciences, one of the College of Agricultural, Human, and Natural Resource Sciences, and one with a dual appointment in the College of Education and the College of Veterinary Medicine. In addition, Honors Distinguished Professor holders become Honors Faculty Fellows at the completion of their two-year terms.

For more information on the college, visit

Media contact:

David Shier, WSU Honors College Associate Dean, 509-335-4505,