WSU Extension: foresters, tree fruit staff earn national awards

WSU Extension Tree Fruit groupBy Seth Truscott, College of Agricultural, Human, and Natural Resource Sciences

PULLMAN, Wash. – Two WSU Extension faculty members won awards this year from the Association of Natural Resource Professionals for their efforts connecting with small forest landowners.

Kevin Zobrist, a WSU associate professor and extension forester, and Lauren Grand, an Oregon State Forest and Natural Resources extension agent, received a silver award for their project, “Property Ownership and Land-Use History for Your Forest Stewardship Plan.” This series offers step-by-step instructions for completing an ownership and land-use history, and explains how to use records websites for King, Island, San Juan, Skagit, Snohomish and Whatcom Counties.

Andy Perleberg - Kevin Zobrist
Perleberg and Zobrist (l-r) earn forestry awards

Zobrist and Grand also received a bronze award for their project, “Reducing Fire Risk to Your Western Washington Home in the Woods.”

Andy Perleberg, a WSU Extension regional specialist and forestry team leader, received the silver award for a series of articles for the Woodland Fish and Wildlife Group. Authors sharing this award include Nicole Strong, Richard Zabel, Ken Bevis, Steve Gibbs, Tami Miketa, Brad Siemens, Susan Barnes, Jimmy Taylor, Misty Seabolt, Fran Cafferata Coe, Julie Woodward, Dana Sanchez, Carri Gaines, Michael Ahr, Jim James, Rhidian Morgan, Jennifer Weikel, Ryan Gordon, Nicole Ahr, Candice Polisky, Dominic Bachman, and Rod Pfeifle.

The Woodland Fish and Wildlife website offers a series of “how-to” publications to help small forest owners in the Pacific Northwest — more than 20 of these titles cover fish and wildlife habitat, management considerations and practical advice for landowners.

Tree fruit team wins national award

WSU Extension Tree Fruit group 2017
WSU Extension Tree Fruit group

The WSU Extension Tree Fruit team, led by Karen Lewis, is the recipient of a national extension materials award from the American Society for Horticultural Science, for their WSU Tree Fruit website.

The award will be presented on Sept. 22, at the ASHS Annual Conference in Wailoloa, Hawaii. Team members include Rob Blakey, Tianna DuPont, David Granatstein, Gwen-Alyn Hoheisel, Wendy Jones, Karen Lewis, Jim McFerson, Ines Hanrahan, Tory Schmidt and Tom Auvil. Lee Kalcsits and Danial Bleile were also involved in the project, which was made possible by support from the WSU Tree Fruit Endowment.

The WSU website was chosen for this national award out of more than 20 entries from land-grant universities across the United States.