Researchers named to Washington State Academy of Sciences


OLYMPIA, Wash. – Four Washington State University faculty were named to the Washington State Academy of Sciences today. New members are accepted in recognition of their outstanding record of scientific achievement and willingness to work on behalf of the academy in bringing the best available science to bear on issues within the state of Washington.

The new WSU members are:

Monica Kirkpatrick Johnson, professor of sociology and Honors College distinguished professor. She studies work, family and education across the life course, with a particular focus on well-being and achievement in adolescence and the transition to adulthood.

Brian Lamb, Regents professor and Boeing distinguished professor. He is an atmospheric scientist whose expertise includes regional grid modeling of photochemical air quality and wind-blown dust, the application of atmospheric tracer techniques, biogenic emissions, 3D turbulence modeling and greenhouse gas emissions.

Jill McCluskey, distinguished professor of sustainability and associate director of the School of Economic Sciences. An economist, her interests include product quality and industrial organization, consumer preferences for food, technology and information, and environmental quality and energy.

John Roll, senior vice chancellor at WSU Health Sciences Spokane. A psychologist, his research has focused on human behavioral pharmacology and the development of behavioral interventions for addiction and other psychiatric disorders.

The new members will be inducted during the ninth annual meeting at the Seattle Museum of Flight on Sept. 15.