Feb. 15 deadline for new teaching innovation success award

PULLMAN, Wash. – Washington State University faculty members who develop and apply “innovative teaching approaches to enhance the depth and quality of the student-learning experience” are eligible for a new award from the Teaching Academy and the Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President.

Find details at http://vpue.wsu.edu/teaching-academy/innovation-award/.

The “WSU Innovation in Teaching Award” is open to pre-tenured, tenured and non-tenure-track full-time faculty, said Tom Dickinson, Teaching Academy member and WSU Regents professor of physics.

Nominations by chairs and colleagues, as well as self-nominations, have a Feb. 15 deadline. The inaugural recipient will be announced April 18 at the annual award ceremony for WSU Undergraduate Education.

Successful implementation

“Other awards support work to develop new ways to boost teaching and learning, but the Innovation Award is intended to recognize someone for efforts that have already generated significant improvements in student learning,” said Dickinson.

“The successes of the recipient of the Innovation Award will inspire other educators to take that risk to invent and use new teaching techniques and resources, or to apply or modify existing ones, for the benefit of our students and their college education,” said Mary F. Wack, vice provost for undergraduate education.

“The recipient may have already assessed the effectiveness of the innovation, or even published or made presentations on it,” she added.

Succinct nominations with letters of support

Nomination statements should not exceed three pages, plus no more than six optional pages of exhibits, Dickinson said. Four letters of support from WSU peers and current or former students in the relevant courses and an up-to-date curriculum vita are also required.

Materials should be submitted by email, with attachments, to the address of Jeannie Holt, principal assistant in the provost’s office, at jmholt@wsu.edu.

Questions related to the award should be directed to Dickinson at jtd@wsu.edu.