Ruckelshaus recipient of Presidential Medal of Freedom

RuckelshausWASHINGTON – William Ruckelshaus, chair of the board of a conflict resolution center named for him at Washington State University/University of Washington, joins Barbra Streisand, Willie Mays and others as recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the country’s highest civilian honor.

Honorees include politicians, activists, athletes and entertainers.

As the first and fifth administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency – under Presidents Nixon and Reagan – Ruckelshaus worked to protect public health and combat global challenges like climate change. He shaped the guiding principles of the agency while working to bring the public into the decision making process.

The William D. Ruckelshaus Center in Seattle is a neutral resource for collaborative problem solving in Washington and the Pacific Northwest.

Read more about Ruckelshaus at

Read more about the awards in the Wall Street Journal at

Read more about the joint WSU/UW center at