Employee honorees named; appreciation event May 1

appreciation-dayPULLMAN, Wash. – Fifteen employees will be honored at the second annual Faculty and Staff Appreciation Day ceremony hosted by the Associated Students of Washington State University. The free event – with refreshments, awards and speakers – will be at 6 p.m. Friday, May 1, in the CUB junior ballroom.

The winners are:

Exceptional Professor Award:
Joe Huseby, Honors College for the School of Politics, Philosophy & Public Affairs
David Makin, College of Arts & Sciences
Chris Lebens, College of Education
James Holden, College of Agricultural, Human & Natural Resource Sciences
Somayeh Nassiri, Voiland College of Engineering & Architecture
Bruce Pinkleton, Murrow College of Communication
Richie Liu, Carson College of Business

Outstanding Staff Member Award:
Jessie Lynch, Honors College recruitment coordinator
Joseph Kremer, sociology department graduate instructor
Michelle Leusink, chemistry department teaching assistant
Jess Vetsch, Northside residence hall custodian
Frank Hill, academic advisor and history professor

Best Advisor Award:
Catherine Elstad, Honors College associate dean and academic advisor
Kristin Culter, Sociology Club advisor

Cougar Award:
David Wollkind, mathematics professor, College of Arts & Sciences