CAHNRS awards recognize students, employees, volunteers

By Seth Truscott, College of Agricultural, Human & Natural Resource Sciences

cookPULLMAN, Wash. – The people who show Washington State University’s College of Agricultural, Human and Natural Resource Sciences at its best were recognized recently at the annual CAHNRS Honors awards ceremony.

The awards recognize students, teachers, support staff and volunteers for excellence in learning, research and improving their college and communities.

General awards

Staff of the Year Danielle Englehardt, center, with Dean Ron Mittelhammer and Executive Associate Dean Kim Kidwell. (Photos by Shelly Hanks, WSU Photo Services)

• R. James Cook – professor emeritus, interim dean 2003-2005, and retired U.S. Department of Agriculture-ARS research plant pathologist who lives in Bothell, Wash. – was inducted into the Wall of Honor. He is one of the most honored research scientists in USDA and WSU history for his work in plant pathology and biotechnology.

• Jim and Lee Ella Ruck of Everett, Wash., received the Volunteer of the Year award. Both alumni of WSU, they are highly involved in CAHNRS. A scholarship for student researchers in the Department of Food Science is named for them.

Faculty of the Year Janet Schmidt, Whitman County Extension director, center, with Kidwell and Mittelhammer.

• Janet Schmidt – professor, WSU Whitman County Extension director and 4-H youth educator – was named Faculty of the Year. She has spent 17 years working with 4-H youth, helping them prepare for college, graduation and giving back by becoming 4-H leaders.

• Danielle Englehardt, principal assistant and travel/purchasing specialist in the Food Science and Clark Hall Business Center, received the Staff of the Year award. She has often shown service as a trainer, volunteer, donor and on many staff committees.

Student awards

Student Troy Carpenter, center, Family and Consumer Scientist of the Year, with Mittelhammer and Kidwell.

• Troy Carpenter, economic sciences financial markets option, Family and Consumer Scientist of the Year.

• Brandon Nickels, agricultural and food systems and agricultural and food business economics, Aggie of the Year.

• Hayley Homan, economic sciences quantitative economics option, Outstanding Junior in Human Sciences.

• Jenica Hagler, agricultural and food systems and agricultural and food business economics, Outstanding Junior in Agricultural or Natural Resource Sciences.

Kyle Strachila, center, the Emerging Undergrad in Agricultural or Natural Resource Sciences award winner, with Mittelhammer and Kidwell.

• Kyle Strachila, agricultural and food systems and agricultural and food business economics, Emerging Undergrad in Agricultural or Natural Resource Sciences.

• Christina Andresen, interior design, Emerging Undergrad in Human Sciences.

• Cooperative University Dairy Students, the Food Engineering Club, Horticulture Club and the International Development Club earned the Superior Club awards.

Outstanding seniors:

Outstanding Senior in Animal Sciences Kelby Stadt, second from left, joins his family in celebration. (Photo by Seth Truscott, WSU CAHNRS)

Agricultural and Food Business Economics, Rodrigo Bonilla, Prosser, Wash.; Agricultural Technology and Production Management, Stephen Bradshaw, Ridgefield, Wash.; Agricultural Education, Austin Baker, Yelm, Wash.; Agricultural Biotechnology, Cody Dean, Monroe, Wash.; Field Crop Management, Dolores Covarrubias, Wenatchee, Wash.; Viticulture and Enology, Pirom Phadoemchit, Singapore; Animal Sciences, Kelby Stadt, Everson, Wash.; Apparel Design, Anthony Melo, Othello, Wash.; Merchandising, Quinn Sullivan, Lake Forest Park, Wash.; Human Development, Emily Reichlin, Covington, Wash.; Human Development Global Campus, Callie Tobiason, Gig Harbor, Wash.; Landscape Architecture, Susie Gomez, Carlsbad, N.M.; Interior Design, KC Smelser, Fort Shaw, Mont.; Natural Resource Sciences, Amanda Moody, Renton, Wash.; Wildlife Ecology, Janelle Badger, Kirkland, Wash.; Food Science, Katie Smoot, Kennewick, Wash.; Economic Analysis and Policy, Ben Wildt, Issaquah, Wash.; Agricultural Economics, Shane Reed, Yakima, Wash.; Financial Markets, Troy Carpenter, Vancouver, Wash.; Economics Graduate School Preparation, Wendiam Sawadgo, Pullman, Wash.

Faculty awards

• Mark Nelson, associate professor in the Department of Animal Sciences, received the R.M. Wade Foundation Excellence in Teaching Award.

• John Kuehner, scientific assistant in the Department of Crop and Soil Sciences, received the Administrative Professional Technical Staff Excellence Award.

• Debra Marsh, academic coordinator at the Johnson Hall Graduate Center, received the Administrative Professional Excellence Award.

• Cathy Blood, conference coordinator in the School of Food Science, received the Classified Clerical/Fiscal Staff Experience Award.

• John Swain, dairy center manager in the Department of Animal Sciences, earned the Classified Technical Staff Excellence Award.

• Arron Carter, winter wheat breeder, Department of Crop and Soil Sciences, received the Early Career Excellence Award.

• Kristen Johnson, professor, Department of Animal Sciences, received the Excellence in Advising Award.

• Karen Killinger, associate professor and extension food safety specialist, School of Food Science, received the Faculty Excellence in Extension Award.

• Hanu Pappu, Professor of Plant Pathology and Samuel H. Smith Distinguished Professor of Plant Virology, Department of Plant Pathology, received the Faculty Excellence in Research Award.

• The WSU Quinoa Research and Extension Team earned the Team Interdisciplinary Award. The team includes Kevin Murphy, John Reganold, Lynne Carpenter-Boggs, Rachel Wieme, David Crowder, Kisusan Khati, Virginia Nichols, Guiliana Noratto, Gaby Medina, Janet Matanguihan, Hannah Walters, Cedric Habiyaremye, Leonardo Hinojosa, Julianne Kellogg, Alison Detjens, Craig Morris, Max Wood, Jessica Goldberger, Emily Green-Tracewicz, Ivan Milosavljevic, Elias Bloom, Tim Miller, Joan Davenport, Carolyn Ross, Geyang Wu, Girish Ganjyal, Rocio Rabanal, Nicole Aluwi, Kristofor Ludvigson, Ian Clark and Ryan Kowalski.

• Learn about volunteer opportunities in CAHNRS at

• Learn more about studies at CAHNRS at

• Learn more about research at CAHNRS at