Pharmacy students select teachers to honor

By Lorraine Nelson, College of Pharmacy

SPOKANE, Wash. – College of Pharmacy faculty members Connie M. Remsberg, Kimberly McKeirnan, William E. Fassett, John R. White and Brian J. Gates were selected by doctor of pharmacy students to receive Teacher of the Year awards for 2013-14.

connie-80Remsberg coordinates the pharmaceutics (compounding) lab and teaches pharmaceutics classes. She joined the faculty one year ago after spending two years as a postdoctoral fellow at the University of California, San Francisco. She has both a Ph.D. and a Pharm.D. from the college. The first-year students selected her for the award.

kimberly-80McKeirnan coordinates the applied patient care labs where students learn to apply their knowledge to caring for patients. She also joined the faculty one year ago after practicing pharmacy for five years and was chosen for the award by the second-year students.

Fassett-and-WhiteFassett and White tied in voting by third-year students. Both are tenured professors with lengthy service to the college. Fassett served a term as dean and White is chair of the Department of Pharmacotherapy.

Brian-80Gates was selected by the fourth-year students. He is associate dean for professional education and oversees a rotation site at the Visiting Nurse Association in Spokane for fourth-year students.