FacOps golf tournament funds scholarships

Photos by Tim Marsh, WSU Today.
PULLMAN – Nearly $10,000 was raised for WSU student scholarships during the second annual Jess Ford of Pullman Hardhat Classic Golf Tournament.
Sponsored by Facilities Operations as a benefit for the FacOps Scholarship Fund, the
18-hole open-to-the-public event at Palouse Ridge Golf Club was held Aug. 14.
There were 69 players in the tournament and 18 participants who did not golf but took part with golfers in a post-tournament lunch and auction at Banyan’s on the Ridge restaurant.
FacOps scholarship recipients for the 2010-2011 academic year are Caitlyn Dimock of Bellingham and Jordan Bowker and Brianna Fischer, both of Pullman.
“We’re thankful for the tremendous support of our sponsors and contributors despite a difficult economy,” said Ev Davis, tournament director and FacOps associate vice president. “And we appreciate the enthusiastic participation. All together, it made the tourney even more successful than last year’s inaugural event.
“Everyone had a great time,” he said. “Most important, the tournament helped provide financial assistance to future WSU students.”
The third annual Jess Ford of Pullman Hardhat Classic Golf Tournament will be held Aug. 13, 2011, at Palouse Ridge Golf Club with an 8 a.m. shotgun start.
Tournament results:
– Closest to the Pin – Aaron Donnelly, Paul Zasada.
– Longest Drive – Brandon Folk, Kelly Stewart, R.C. Riggs
– Best Ball Flight High Gross Individual (1-hour free golf lesson provided by Palouse Ridge Golf Club) – Ron Haxton
– Best Ball Flight Low Net Individual trophy – Ron Morgan
– Best Ball Flight Low Gross Individual trophy – Brandon Folk


-Best Ball Flight High Gross team – Keith Scholl, Don Rosio, Wayne Agee, Steve Clack. Four large buckets of practice balls provided by Airway Hills Golf Range & Miniature Golf.
-Best Ball Flight Low Net team
1st place gold hardhat – Steve Westbrook, Brian Talbot, Ron Morgan, Ken Paulson
2nd place trophy – Keith Scholl, Don Rosio, Wayne Agee, Steve Clack
3rd place trophy – Mike Sturko, Pat Sturko, Aron Sturko, Matt Burger
-Best Ball Flight Low Gross team
1st place gold hardhat – Erik Bondo, Paul Zasada, Mike Edwards, Doug Schindler
2nd place trophy – Ev Davis, Jeff Stone, Rod Holmes, Dwight Hagihara
3rd place trophy – Ron Haxton, Dennis Nickenke, Roy Schneider, Dana Soukup
-Scramble Flight High Gross Team – Mike Leonas, Keith Bloom, Aaron Donnelly, Virgil Hanson. Four large buckets of practice balls provided by Airway Hills Golf Range & Miniature Golf.
-Scramble Flight
1st place gold hardhat – Andrew Seaman, David Nuhn, Jake Stewart, Kelly Stewart
2ND place trophy – Byron Smith, Larry Gropp, Blaine McMahan, Mark Parsons
3rd place trophy – Rex Riggs, Gene Riggs, Rick Flomer, R.C. Riggs
Tournament sponsors included Jess Ford of Pullman; Pullman Heating and Electric, Inc.; Avista; Keith and Jan Bloom of Café Moro; Lydig Construction; Pioneer Masonry Restoration Co.; Siemens Building Technologies; Hobson Fabricating; R.B. Olson Construction LLC; Coldwell Banker Tomlinson; McKinstry Co.; Pullman Building Supply; Steve and Dawn Watts; Pullman Family Medicine; Today’s Dental; Den and Silvia Bowker; Mike and Karen Leonas; Ev and Kathleen Davis; Dennis Rovetto; Palouse Ridge Golf Club; Pheasant Valley Shooting Preserve & Sporting Clays; Davenport Hotel; Dave’s Golf Shop; Sam Dial Jewelers; Holiday Inn Express; WSU Athletics; WSU Connections; Southfork Public House; Pullman Chamber of Commerce; Kate Kamerrer; Re/Max Home and Land; Airway Hills Golf Range; Nalco; KQQQ-AM/Hit 103.5; Pam Hilliard; Steve’s Handyman Service and Sharon Rauchk; Coeur d’Alene Resort; Coeur d’Alene Resort Golf Club; Coeur d’Alene Casino and Circling Raven Golf Club.