WSU Honors College awards faculty, students

Three Washington State University professors and two graduating seniors received top awards from the Honors College at ceremonies Friday, May 4. The winning students were nominated by their honors faculty.

Recognized for his contributions as an outstanding thesis adviser was Gerald Berthiaume, associate professor of music and director of the School of Music and Theatre Arts in the College of Liberal Arts (CLA).

Selected to receive special faculty awards were Richard Gill, associate professor in the School of Earth and Environmental Science in the College of Agricultural, Human, and Natural Resource Sciences; and Lydia Gerber, senior instructor in the Department of History, in the CLA.

Graduating seniors and WSU regents scholars Janeen Heath and Kylan Robinson received the special Dean’s Award for their accomplishments during their education at WSU.

Heath served as the WSU student body vice president, studied abroad, and was the first person to receive the new Certificate of Global Competency from the Honors College. She graduated Saturday, May 5 with two majors:
communications and political science. She plans to build a career in foreign affairs.

Robinson twice participated in the Model United Nations program, worked for USAid in Africa one summer, and was a section leader in the WSU Marching Band. He graduated with a major in computer engineering, and following a summer internship at Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories,  will return to campus in fall to see his master’s degree in computer engineering.

Both Heath and Robinson were also named to as recipients of the S. Town Stephenson Awards from the Honors College, celebrating their good citizenship and contributions to the community. Other students receiving the awards were: Johannes Anderson, Erik Dahl, John Hanus, Katie Marsh, Rachel Neff, Brielle Schaeffer, Holly Shelton, Julie Solbrack, Jessie Thompson and Ian Turner.