(If you or someone you know has received an honor, please e-mail the information to Cynthia King at

• WSU recently became one of four universities funded by the National Science Foundation to address the challenge of protecting the cybersecurity of the nation’s power grid. Other collaborators in the five-year, $7.5 million project are Cornell, Dartmouth and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. UIUC will be home to a national center, the Trustworthy Cyber Infrastructure for the Power Grid (TCIP). WSU research by the School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science will be led by Carl Hauser and David Bakken, associate professors of computer science, and Anjan Bose, Distinguished Professor in Power.

“WSU has a long history of providing research advances for the electric power grid’s communication system,” said Bill Sanders, UIUC director of the new center. “Their excellent interdisciplinary research, involving both computer science and power engineering faculty, was instrumental in our team’s obtaining funding for this project.”

• The College of Business and Economics’ undergraduate business program was ranked among the 10 best in western U.S. public universities, according to the newly-released U.S. News and World Report: America’s Best Colleges 2006 publication. In national rankings, the international business program received an exceptional ranking of 22nd; it has been in the top 25 for the past three years. In overall rankings including private schools, the WSU business program placed 87th, and 56th among public schools. The number of ranked schools increased to 166 this year, from 131 last year.

• Rachel J. Halverson, associate professor of German, has been named one of seven recipients of the 2005 Certificate of Merit Award from the American Association of Teachers of German and the Goethe-Institute New York for outstanding achievement in furthering the teaching of German in schools of the United States.

• Debbie Handy, assistant professor for Human Development, recently received the 2005 Outstanding Service Award from the Washington Association for Career & Technical Educators. It recognizes her contribution to the organization and membership through leadership and support and as a family and consumer sciences executive board member.

• Matthew Nelson, a maintenance custodian in facilities operations, received the WSU Spokane Classified Staff Excellence Award for his dedication to excellence, work ethic, exhaustive knowledge and all-around contribution to the work environment.

• Kaarin Appel, communications and events manager, received the WSU Spokane Administrative/Professional Staff Excellence Award for her organizational skills, attention to detail, emphasis on involving and thanking those who work with her on myriad events, publications, and other projects, and her effectiveness as both an internal and external ambassador for WSU Spokane.

• Stephanie San Miguel Bauman, associate professor of counseling psychology at WSU Tri-Cities, recently received an Exemplary Asian Pacific Alumni of Notre Dame Award in recognition of her professional accomplishments, service and leadership. This award was presented to 24 individuals in conjunction with the 10th anniversary of the University of Notre Dame’s Asian Pacific Alumni (APA).

• Donald C. Orlich, professor emeritus, Science Mathematics Engineering Education Center (SMEEC) was selected as one of 17 national panelists to the recent “Montana Summit.” Panel members from the Kettering Foundation, U. S. Department of Education, national education unions, the Education Trust and the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics discussed “Federal Government’s Role in K-12 Education. Who Wins? Who Loses?” Orlich was honored in 2003 by the University of Montana with the “Leadership in Education Excellence Award.”