Educational Technology Grants Announced

PULLMAN, Wash. — Fourteen Washington State University students and 22 faculty members will receive mini-grants for teacher preparation.

The mini-grants are part of a $1.4 million, three-year project funded by the U.S. Department of Education to prepare teachers to use technology more effectively, said WSU faculty member Abbie Brown, project director.

Each student received a grant of $500.

The faculty awards include financial support during this summer to complete faculty projects plus an invitation to a week of WSU workshops on innovative technologies.

The faculty members selected were from the Colleges of Liberal Arts, Sciences and Education. Funding will support incorporation of innovative technologies into coursework and teaching practice. The size of the faculty grants varied, but the grants were each approximately $5,000, Brown said.

The goal of the mini-grant program is to provide future teachers and the faculty who teach those future teachers an understanding of the innovative technologies that meet national educational technology standards.

Faculty members receiving the educational technology grants from the College of Education are Valarie Akerson, Anne Campbell, Joy Egbert, Lynda Hatch, Amy Roth McDuffie, Darcy Miller, Marisol Rodriguez-Price, Richard Sawyer, Lenore Schmidt and Terrell Young.

College of Sciences faculty recipients are Duane DeTemple, Eldon Franz, Ken Kardong, Valipuram Manoranjan and John Paznokas.

Those faculty members from the College of Liberal Arts are Michael Allen, Joan Grenier-Winther, Ella Inglebret, Judy Meuth, Barbara Monroe, Raymond Sun and Richard Williams.

The teacher preparation students receiving the educational technology grants were Joshua Arndt of Bothell, Jennifer Conway of Washougal, Didier Couvelaire of Pullman, Sunny Dawsey of Prosser, Mark Goddard of Pullman, Hee-Jung Jung of South Korea, Lisa Phillips of Olympia, Megan Riebe of Auburn, LeAnne Robinson-Trople of Sedro Woolley, Audrey Townsend of Spokane and Tia Vanderveen of Lynden.

Also earning the grants are Audrey Cordova of Springer, N.M.; W.J. Bruce Fleming of Kelowna, British Columbia; and Erik Levy of Sandy, Utah.