WSU Recognizes Donors, Volunteers at WSU Foundation Annual Meeting Oct. 15-17

PULLMAN, Wash. — More than 50 donors to Washington State University of $100,000 or more and
four of $1 million or more will be recognized during the WSU Foundation 19th Annual Meeting of
Members Oct. 15-17. Some 500 Foundation members — donors and volunteers — began arriving on the
Pullman campus today (Oct. 15) for meetings and events.
“This is the time of year when we celebrate the incredible generosity of Cougars,” said Connie Kravas,
WSU Foundation president.
In addition to attending the annual meeting, during which a report on private giving to the University
in fiscal year 1997-98 will be given, participants will attend committee and trustee meetings, special
presentations, a luncheon and a recognition dinner gala in WSU’s Beasley Performing Arts Coliseum Friday
night. The gala will recognize contributors to the University of $100,000 or more, as well pay tribute to
volunteer service.
More than $42 million was contributed to WSU in fiscal year 1997-98, which ended June 30.
At the recognition dinner gala, four donors will be honored as Laureates, contributors of $1 million or
more: Anheuser Busch, St. Louis, Missouri; the late Audrey Burg, Uniontown, Wash.; Rocky Crate,
Spanaway, Wash.; and Ralph Fowler, Littlerock, Wash.
An additional 50 individuals and organizations will be recognized as new WSU Benefactors for
contributions of $100,000 or more:
From Spokane and other Inland Empire communities: George Bagby, M.D. Spokane; Cavanaughs
Hospitality Corp., Spokane; the late Roscoe and Frances Cox, Colville; Melvin and Donna Camp, Post
Falls, Idaho; Ernest and Stanley Berg, Tonasket; Bob and Gen DeVleming, Pullman; Robert and Helen
Schmidt, Rosalia; Gladys and the late Manuel Schneidmiller, Coeur d’Alene, Idaho; and the late Wayne
Allan Stanford, Moses Lake, Wash
From the Puget Sound region: KIRO TV, Seattle; The Casey Family Program, Seattle; Robert and
Claire Hallowell, Seattle; Paul G. Allen Virtual Education Foundation, Bellevue; Seattle Times, Seattle;
William and the late Irene Young, Seattle; James and Betty Jo Wright, Anacortes; WRQ, Seattle; the late
Rudy Malachnik, Black Diamond, Wash.; the late Richard Rolfs, Seattle; E. Doyle & Matilda
Montgomery, Seattle; the late Henry and Aurelia Chiara Beuchel, Seattle; Washington State Cranberry
Commission, Grayland; and Washington Red Raspberry Commission, Bellingham.
From Central Washington: the late George L. Carlton, Wenatchee; Eileen Collier, Walla Walla; and the
late Jack Maguire and his wife, Edna, Wenatchee.
From southwest Washington: Keith and Maxine Bradbury, Vancouver, Wash.
From Oregon: Crown Pacific, Portland; and Nabisco, Inc. Portland.
Other benefactors include: Dale and Olive Mae Dibble, longtime residents of Liberty Lake who now
reside in Naples, Fla.; Austin & Joan Larsen, Salt Lake City; Oracle Corporation, Belmont, Calif.; the late
Linda B. Saindon, Ventura, Calif.; Leon and Arline Harman, Los Altos, Calif.; J. Roberts and Marcia
Fosberg, Dana Point, Calif.; Watkins-Johnson, Scotts Valley, Calif.; Irene Valeska and the late Hattie Espy,
Kensington, Calif.; Society of Manufacturing Engineers, Dearborn, Mich.; and Celotex Corporation, St
Petersburg, Fla.
Yogendra Gupta, director of WSU’s Institute for Shock Physics, will be the keynote speaker at the
Foundation luncheon on Oct. 16. His address, “Why Would Anybody Smash Rubies and Diamonds” will
provide an overview of his work and that of WSU’s internationally recognized Institute for Shock Physics.
In 1997, the U.S. Department of Energy provided a five-year, $10 million grant to Washington State
University to establish the institute. The investment was part of the DOE’s ongoing strategy to develop
scientific expertise and capabilities to ensure a safe and reliable nuclear stockpile without underground
tests. Shock wave research explores very rapid and large compression of matter to understand the
associated physical and chemical phenomena.